Deferred Load

Save up to 30% with the Deferred Load Rate

Lower your heating and cooling costs by up to 30% compared to our standard electric rates. The Deferred Load Rate is used mainly with thermal storage technologies. Air-source heat pumps and electric water heaters may also be added to the rate if they’re used with a storage system.

How it works

When you’re on the Deferred Load Rate, we use radio signals (we’ll install a receiver on your meter at no additional charge) to control your service during peak and emergency conditions. This helps us keep energy costs as low as possible.

The Deferred Load Rate is used primarily with thermal-storage systems, including electric water heaters, which can be charged during off-peak hours to keep your home comfortable during peak periods. 

We also use cycled energy control during the summer season (June through September) for heat pumps served on the rate. If you install your air-source heat pump on this rate, you may request that it be cycled 15 minutes on, 15 minutes off during occasional peak periods, which will keep you cool and help us manage energy demand.

Program eligibility and details

Permanently connected heat storage loads that can operate under the conditions of the rate are eligible. These loads are primarily thermal-storage heating and cooling systems, air-source heat pumps, and electric water heaters.

We may control service up to 14 hours a day during peak conditions or emergencies. When possible we will interrupt long control events to allow a recovery period.

Rate codes and rates

Deferred Load: 197

Deferred Load summer cycling: 195

Penalty: 883 

This is for permanently connected, deferred loads. These loads primarily are thermal storage, such as underfloor heating or central-storage furnaces. Water heaters also may be included on this rate when deferred heating load is in use. Loads may be controlled up to 14 hours a day. Rate 195 allows for qualified summer-season loads to be cycled 15 minutes on and 15 minutes off during control periods.

  Minnesota North Dakota South Dakota
Customer charge $2.00 $3.00 $3.00
Monthly minimum bill Customer +
facilities charges
Customer +
facilities charges
Customer +
facilities charges
Facilities charge $4.00 $4.00 $4.00
Kilowatt-hour charge
June - September
5.736¢ 5.154¢ 1.852¢
Kilowatt-hour charge
October - May
6.123¢ 5.002¢ 2.156¢
Penalty charge
June - September
14.744¢ 33.802¢ 15.939¢
Penalty charge
October - May
15.649¢ 11.510¢ 16.927¢
  Download Download Download

 

Ready to enroll in the Deferred Load Rate?

Contact our Customer Service Center via email or call 800-257-4044 during business hours to enroll in this rate program.