Minnesota Residential Rate Summary

The schedules in these tables do not include sales tax, adjustments, or riders, which may vary by month and by state. For complete terms and other rates, such as outdoor lighting, farm service, or irrigation, see rates, rules and regulations. Charges apply monthly.

These are standard general service rates applied to most household electrical use.

  Minnesota North Dakota South Dakota
Customer charge $9.75 $8.00 $8.00
Monthly minimum bill Customer charge Customer charge Customer charge
Kilowatt-hour charge
June - September
10.964¢ First 1,000- 8.074¢
Excess- 8.074¢
First 500- 5.599¢
Excess- 4.987¢
Kilowatt-hour charge
October - May
9.064¢ First 1,000- 7.493¢
Excess- 6.803¢
First 500- 5.819¢
Excess- 5.260¢
  Download Download Download

Customers on the Residential Service, RDC, or Farm Service Rates may receive a monthly bill credit between June and September when direct control is configured to permit cycling 15 minutes on/off during periods of energy control. Bill credit amount varies by state.

Air conditioning may be controlled a maximum of 300 hours during the cooling season.

  Minnesota North Dakota South Dakota
Credit June - September $8.25 $7.00 $7.00
  Download Download Download

Customers on the base tariffs listed above, among others, may receive a bill credit each month when direct control to connect water heating is configured. Water heaters may be controlled up to 14 hours a day. Credit amounts vary by state.

  Minnesota        North Dakota South Dakota
Monthly Bill Credit $8.00 $4.00 $4.00
  Download Download Download

This rate applies to water heaters that are metered separately and subject to controlled service. Water heaters may be controlled up to 14 hours a day.

  Minnesota North Dakota South Dakota
Customer charge $4.00 $1.00 $2.50
Monthly minimum bill Customer + facilities charges Customer + facilities charges Customer charge
Facilities charge $0.00 $1.00 $0.00
Kilowatt-hour charge
June - September
7.148¢ 5.403¢ 2.776¢
Kilowatt-hour charge
October - May
6.112¢ 5.268¢ 3.143¢
  Download Download Download

This rate is available to customers with approved demand-control systems and applies to lighting, heating, water heating, cooking, refrigeration, air-conditioning, and other general uses of electricity. The demand charge, measured in kilowatts, is based on a customer's highest one-hour winter-season demand reading during a control period in the most recent 12 months. Service may be controlled up to 14 hours a day.

  Minnesota North Dakota South Dakota
Customer charge $11.00 $18.38 $13.00
Monthly minimum bill Customer + facilities + demand
charges
Customer + demand charges Customer + demand charges
Facility charge NA NA NA
Demand charge/kW
June - September
$8.00 $6.52 $7.05
Demand charge/kW
October - May
$8.00 $2.63 $5.93
Kilowatt-hour charge
June - September
6.425¢ 4.257¢ 2.022¢
Kilowatt-hour charge
October - May
6.738¢ 4.301¢ 2.399¢
  Download Download Download

Deferred Load

Rate codes: 195, 197; penalty 883

This is for permanently connected deferred loads. These loads primarily are thermal storage, such as underfloor heating or central-storage furnaces. You also may include water heaters on this rate when deferred heating load is in use. Loads may be controlled up to 14 hours a day. Rate 195 allows for qualified summer-season loads to be cycled 15 minutes on and 15 minutes off during control periods.

  Minnesota North Dakota South Dakota
Customer charge $4.00 $3.00 $3.00
Monthly minimum bill Customer +
facilities charges
Customer +
facilities charges
Customer +
facilities charges
Facilities charge $8.00 $4.00 $4.00
Kilowatt-hour charge
June - September
6.851¢ 4.784¢ 1.852¢
Kilowatt-hour charge
October - May
6.821¢ 4.632¢ 2.156¢
Penalty charge
June - September
29.065¢ 33.802¢ 15.939¢
Penalty charge
October - May
18.379¢ 11.510¢ 16.927¢
  Download Download Download

Dual Fuel - Small

Rate codes: 185, 190; penalty 882

This is for permanently connected interruptible heating loads with an alternate fuel backup system that is served with self-contained (typical) metering. You also may include water heaters on this rate when other interruptible load is in use. Heating loads may be controlled up to 24 hours a day and water-heating loads may be controlled up to 14 hours a day. Rate 185 allows for air-source heat pump loads to be cycled 15 minutes on and 15 minutes off during summer control periods.

  Minnesota North Dakota South Dakota
Customer charge $4.00 $2.00 $2.00
Monthly minimum bill Customer + facilities
charges
Customer + facilities
charges
Customer + facilities
charges
Facility charge $8.00 $5.00 $5.00
Kilowatt-hour charge
June - September
5.568¢ 3.289¢ 1.050¢
Kilowatt-hour charge
October - May
5.223¢ 3.081¢ 1.386¢
Penalty charge /kWh
June-September
39.803¢ 38.606¢ 16.403¢
Penalty charge /kWh
October-May
19.978¢ 12.924¢ 17.697¢
  Download Download Download

Dual Fuel - Large

Rate codes: 165, 170; 168/268; 169/269; penalty 881

This is for permanently connected interruptible heating loads with an alternate fuel backup system that is serviced by current transformer (CT) metering. You also may include water heaters on this rate when other qualified interruptible load is in use. Heating loads may be controlled up to 24 hours a day and water heating loads may be controlled up to 14 hours a day. Rates 165 and 169/269 allow for qualified summer-season loads to be cycled 15 minutes on and 15 minutes off during control periods. To accommodate system controls, Rates 168/268 and 169/269 allow up to 5% of off-peak-load use to remain in service during control periods.

  Minnesota North Dakota South Dakota

165, 170 - Option 1

Customer charge $7.00 $4.00 $5.00
Monthly minimum bill Customer +
facilities charges
Customer +
facilities charges
Customer +
facilities charges
Facilities charge 18.0¢/kW of annual max.
demand per month
8.0¢/kW of annual max.
demand per month
12.0¢/kW of annual max.
demand per month
Kilowatt-hour charge
June - September
4.765¢ 2.796¢ 0.629¢
Kilowatt-hour charge
October - May
4.532¢ 2.674¢ 0.895¢
Penalty charge/kWh
June - September
31.020¢ 39.448¢ 15.516¢
Penalty charge/kWh
October - May
13.893¢ 12.726¢ 15.839¢

168/268, 169/269 - Option 2

Customer charge $7.00 $5.00 $6.00
Monthly minimum bill Customer +
facilities charges
Customer +
facilities charges
Customer +
facilities charges
Facilities charge 18.0¢/kW of annual max.
demand per month
8.0¢/kW of annual max.
demand per month
12.0¢/kW of annual max.
demand per month
Kilowatt-hour charge
June - September
4.765¢ 2.966¢ 0.856¢
Kilowatt-hour charge
October - May
4.532¢ 2.838¢ 1.142¢
Control period demand charge
June- September
$10.95/kW $7.29/kW $7.29/kW
Control period demand charge
October - May
$8.50/kW $5.61/kW $4.63/kW
  Download Download Download

Fixed Time of Delivery - CT Metering

Rate code: 302; penalty 885

This is for permanently connected deferred loads with current transformer (CT) metering, primarily thermal-storage space heating or other approved loads. Electric service will be provided from 10:00 p.m. until 6:00 a.m. In all other hours, the customer's load will be controlled.  

  Minnesota North Dakota South Dakota
Customer charge $4.00 $1.50 $2.00
Monthly minimum bill Customer + facilities
charges
Customer + facilities
charges
Customer + facilities
charges
Facilities charge $24.00 $19.00 $16.00
Kilowatt-hour charge
June - September
2.826¢ 2.404¢ 0.110¢
Kilowatt-hour charge
October - May
3.429¢ 2.567¢ 0.564¢
Penalty charge/kWh
June - September
7.495¢ 9.40¢ 4.652¢
Penalty charge/kWh
October - May
5.233¢ 7.385¢ 3.826¢
  Download Download Download

This is for permanently connected deferred loads with self-contained (typical) metering, primarily thermal-storage space heating or other approved loads. Electric service will be provided from 10:00 p.m. until 6:00 a.m. In all other hours, the customer's load will be controlled. 

  Minnesota North Dakota South Dakota
Customer charge $3.00 $1.00 $1.50
Monthly minimum bill Customer + facilities
charges
Customer + facilities
charges
Customer + facilities
charges
Facilities charge $4.00 $3.00 $3.00
Kilowatt-hour charge
June - September
2.826¢ 2.404¢ 0.110¢
Kilowatt-hour charge
October - May
3.429¢ 2.567¢ 0.564¢
Penalty charge/kWh
June - September
7.495¢ 9.40¢ 4.652¢
Penalty charge/kWh
October - May
5.233¢ 7.385¢ 3.826¢
  Download Download Download

Electric Vehicle Charging Rate - MN

Rate codes: 781 (887-penalty)—Self contained meter; 782 (888-penalty) -- CT Meter; 783 (889 penalty) -- Primary CT meter

Customers may purchase off-peak electricity solely to recharge an electric vehicle (as defined by statute). Energy is delivered between 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. All other hours of electric service are unauthorized and subject to penalty period kilowatt-hour charges.

  Minnesota
Self contained metering
Customer charge $3.00
Monthly minimum bill Customer + facilities charges
Facilities charges $4.00
Kilowatt-hour charges June - September 1.490¢
Kilowatt-hour charges October - May 2.093¢
Penalty charge/kWh June - September 7.495¢
Penalty charge/kWh October - May 5.233¢
 CT metering
Customer charge $4.00
Monthly minimum bill Customer + facilities charges
Facilities charges $24.00
Kilowatt-hour charges June - September 1.490¢
Kilowatt-hour charges October - May 2.093¢
Penalty charge/kWh June - September 7.495¢
Penalty charge/kWh October - May 5.233¢
 Primary CT metering
Customer charge $5.50
Monthly minimum bill Customer + facilities charges
Facilities charges $12.00
Kilowatt-hour charges June - September 1.479¢
Kilowatt-hour charges October - May 2.079¢
Penalty charge/kWh June - September 7.484¢
Penalty charge/kWh October - May 5.219¢
  Download

For more detail on rates and regulations concerning your electric service contact our Customer Service Center via email or read the full text of our rates online.

Search